The 24 Hour Gym

I read in the Oxfam fundraising pack, that when looking for sponsorship, I should remind people that they are not just sponsoring me for the 26.2 miles that I run in April, but also the time and commitment needed to undertake the training to prepare for the marathon. I am starting to understand this already.

Right now, as I cannot run due to my achilles problem, I am having to use the gym every time I train. Due to a number of other things going on at moment (not least having a baby and a toddler, work and a wife that I also want to spend time with) time is pretty scarce. The ideal time for me to train is before 6am and after 8pm.

Having to use the gym is really constraining, particularly at the weekend as it is only open ’til 8pm. So today I had to leave home at 6:30pm after a day of chores to try and squeeze in a session before the gym closed at 8 o’clock. This was cutting it fine as it takes me 20 minutes to get there.

As it turned out, I had a pretty good session. I am easing into cycling so that I don’t strain the achilles whilst it is still healing, so I spent 10 minutes on the bike to see how it felt (and it was ok). I then lifted a few weights and stretched for 15 minutes (to avoid any tightness that might add to the achilles problem) and then hit the pool for a 20 minutes swim that I used like an interval session – 2 lengths flat out followed by 4 lengths easy. This felt good as it was the first time in two and half weeks that I actually felt like I had done a cardio workout (ie I broke into a sweat!). Also, this was alot in an hour given that during this time I changed clothes three times and had a shower.

This got me thinking – I read in zappoman’s blog that when he decided to get fit, he joined a 24 hour gym. I would love that!! For people like me who work all day, spend time with their family and need to do stuff at home (we are having our kitchen re-fitted next week so this afternoon I cooked five days worth of dinners) being able to train in a gym when I want to would be amazing. Instead, I have to squeeze it into the “opening hours”.

I can’t wait until I can just put on my running shoes again and ahead out my front door for a couple of hours when it suits me!

13 Responses to The 24 Hour Gym

  1. zappoman says:

    Noel,

    Thanks for the mention of my blog. I had another thought that might help you in your recovery, marathon training, and busy life. If you already own a bicycle (even if it’s nothing special) you can go get an “indoor cycle trainer” like this. I have one and I set it up in my garage, so that if for some reason I can’t leave the house, but still want a workout, I can jump on it and get in a little spin.

    The other thing that’s great about this type of a product (particularly with your injury) is that you can usually adjust the resistance to be a very light or heavier workout.

    Anyway, good luck in your recovery.

    -Brad

  2. noelryan says:

    Zappoman,

    Thanks for the idea. I have used my garage as a gym before – when I was really short of time in Feb / March this year (my youngest was born in Jan so I no time and even less energy) I did use it as a weights room.

    Right now it is full of 47 bits of my kitchen!

  3. pantelakis says:

    Well,well.well,
    It’s 11.30 pm Lookins to fined a gym in london so i searched into google and found you’re in the same position as me , wife is asleep with my two little boys 3/4 just make so so tierd all day and the only time i realy get to see them is weekends having to work mon/fri 7am-7pm by the time i get home from work their sleeping and i get so tierd well lease i’m not the only one!! if you find a 24 hour gym please mail me the no:
    Good Luck
    georgio

    p.s sorry for any spelling mistkes

  4. Declan says:

    Eye to computer screen control is also available. So even at young ages and relatively low levels of
    the sport, goalies will have their helmets designed with various colors, prints and patterns, shapes or designs,
    and more. Still, Lich King is not devoid of its flaws.
    you ask with softness coming back into your voice as you
    sit on the sand beside me. Overall I’ll say the game isn’t
    that re playable. Originally established as a sanctuary for the Nilgiri Tahr, the ‘The Eravikulam National Park’ has now turned into a highly popular tourist spot.
    Talcahuano. Most visitors on a trip to Munnar invariably
    end up at the Tata Tea Museum and gain some delightful insights
    into the process of tea making. A far cry from the land of milk and honey
    you may think. I died numerous times because of the stupid reload system.

  5. Although you can’t go back to any songs, you can skip songs, mark them as ones you like or dislike, and browse the names, bands, and CD the song is on of all the songs that have played already. Also, by having a radio internship in your resume, there is a better chance for you to become a DJ when you apply for a job in any radio station in the nation. In much the same way, two-way radio rental offers businesses and individuals substantial savings in money, time and resources that equipment ownership never will.

  6. Britney says:

    This equals a little extra profit for prospects, and usually works well.

    Make it worth your while when listing items and pricing.
    Unlike pawn shops, these diamond buyers actually
    have a reputation to protect and therefore will do
    their best to provide you with the best cash settlement
    possible.

  7. welcome says:

    Hi are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to
    get started and set up my own. Do you require any html coding knowledge to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  8. Futerał says:

    This article is genuinely a good one it assists new internet viewers,
    who are wishing for blogging.

  9. I believe everything said made a great deal of sense. However, consider this, suppose you were to create a killer headline?
    I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your blog, however suppose you added a title that grabbed a person’s
    attention? I mean The 24 Hour Gym | Back Running
    is a little vanilla. You could look at Yahoo’s home page and see how they create post titles to get viewers to open the links. You might add a video or a related picture or two to get people excited about everything’ve got to say.
    In my opinion, it could bring your blog a little livelier.

  10. tramadol says:

    Howdy! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room
    mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this post to him.
    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Many thanks for
    sharing!

  11. Sometimes, there are several higher parts, you must try your best to jump over it or you can not go continuously.
    It is simply provided that that you’re concerned your youngster can get hooked with activities that pose danger to them.
    In terms of this great change, I think it really is really encourage players to get wise decision when they hope good gameplay.

  12. CBD E-Juice says:

    Hi everyone! I was speculating whether or not anybody wishes to team up with me as a hemp and CBD product reviewer? I have actually received a considerable amount of cbd products from popular manufacturers just like PUUR CBD I also have a lot of CBD and hemp products to send to CBD and hemp reviewers, consisting of CBD Vaping, CBD Transdermal Patches and CBD Supplements I likewise do vape reviews and am seeking a vape reviewer also to review the following eliquid brands (will be shipped to you): Budget E-Liquid, Cultured E-Liquid and War Pigs E-Juice Thanks guys and have a fabulous day! You can reach me at https://allcbdstores.com

  13. North Carolina CBD says:

    What a fun read – I’ll be sharing with my friends. This is appreciated!

Leave a comment